Annual Reports

Annual Report 2019 – 2020

The Western Catskills service area covers 955 square miles in 18 towns and 6 villages in southern Schoharie, northern Delaware, and western Greene Counties in the northern Catskills.

Schoharie County: the towns of Blenheim, Broome, Conesville, Fulton, Gilboa, Jefferson, and Summit

Delaware County: the towns of Harpersfield, Kortright, Middletown, Roxbury, and Stamford

Greene County: the towns of Ashland, Halcott, Hunter, Jewett, Lexington, and Prattsville.

The Villages are Stamford, Hobart, Fleischmanns and Margaretville in Delaware County and Hunter and Tannersville in Greene County.

Working with Town and Village Supervisors and Boards, we apply for CDBG and Affordable Housing Corporation funds for housing rehabilitation or manufactured home replacement funds.

We are currently managing $2,025,000 in funds which will be spread over two years, bringing an average of $1,012,500 into our economy each year.

Our work is done by local contractors; our supplies are purchased locally.

Economists state that every dollar brought into a local economy has a multiple of between $1 and $3. Therefore, Western Catskills has contributed between $2,025,000 and $3,037,500 to the local economy this year alone.

Western Catskills offers Housing and Financial Counseling services, free of charge to all. Certified as a HUD Approved Housing Counseling agency, we are supported by funding from HUD and NYS HOPP. We expect this service will be greatly needed during the coming months.

Our apartments have had a higher number of vacancies this year due to the shut down of all activities by the pandemic. As New York slowly re-opens, these vacancies are being filled.

Linda Stratigos
Interim Executive Director
July 14, 2020